Wednesday, December 5, 2012

The Architect of the Year 2012

5 Dec 2012 19:15 Africa/Lagos

The Architect of the Year 2012

LONDON, December 5, 2012 /PRNewswire/ --

Alison Brooks named UK's best architect

Olympic architects also honoured at ceremony in London

Housing design specialist ABA, the business founded by Canadian-born architect Alison Brooks, has been named the UK's best architecture practice at the Architect of the Year Awards in London.

(Logo: )

(Photo: )

(Photo: )

The judges deemed Brooks' contribution to housing design particularly worthy of celebration at a time when housing delivery in the UK had dropped to its lowest levels since the 1920's.

Brooks said it was an award shared by every "unsung" housing architect who has been quietly fighting for good design to prevail.

"It's hugely important for us to have won this award after many years of very hard work and commitment to the cause of good housing design," she said.

"The recognition is very important to us. It's a sign of confidence in what we have been trying to do for many years.

"But one of the nicest things about this award is that there's a community of unsung heroes working in housing who are prepared to fight for good design quality every step of the way."

Other award winners at the awards ceremony on Tuesday included the architects of the Olympic Eton Manor venue, Stanton Williams, and the architect behind the ground-breaking design of the Halley IV Antarctic Research Station for the British Antarctic Survey, Hugh Broughton.

For more information about the winners see

The full list of Architect of the Year Awards winners:

Alison Brooks - Scheuco Gold Architect of the Year and Housing Architect of the Year

Hugh Broughton Architects - International Breakthrough Architect of the Year

Witherford Watson Mann Architects - Interior Architect of the Year

Reiach & Hall Architects - Education Architect of the Year (sixth form to university)

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris - Education Architect of the Year (nursery to secondary)

Adam Khan Architects - Public Building Architect of the Year

Adams & Sutherland - Public Realm Architect of the Year

Stanton Williams - Sports & Entertainment Architect of the Year

Reiach & Hall Architects - Office Architect of the Year

5th Studio - Masterplanning Architect of the Year

Civic Architects - Environmental Excellence Award

Witherford Watson Mann Architects - Refurbishment Architect of the Year

Coffey Architects - Small Project Architect of the Year

About the Architect of the Year Awards

BD's annual awards are among the most respected architecture awards internationally, and are unique in recognising an architect's body of work rather than individual buildings.

The awards are closely monitored by the property and construction industries and have been influential in the appointment of British architects to projects as far afield as China and South America.

Held at The Brewery in the shadow on London's iconic Barbican Estate, the awards are attended by more than 500 guests representing the cream of British architecture.

About BD and Bdonline

BD is the architects' favourite for all the latest news, building reviews and comment. Together with Bdonline it has a weekly reach of over 25,000 readers.

BD was named IBP Weekly Magazine of the Year 2011 and BDonline's editor was named BSME Business Web Editor of the Year.

CONTACT: For more information contact: Anna Winston - / +44(0)20-7921-8211

submit to reddit

No comments:

Post a Comment