Friday, March 24, 2017

Janelle Monáe and Pat McGrath Among Nominees for 2017 CFDA Awards

Janelle Monáe and celebrated British make-up artist, Pat McGrath MBE, called the most influential make-up artist in the world by Vogue magazine are among top nominees for the 2017 annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which are set for June 5 at the Hammerstein Ballroom, Manhattan Center Studios at 311 West 34th Street in Manhattan in New York City, USA.

RAF Simons.

Categories and Nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack Mccollough for Proenza Schouler, Marc Jacobs, Mary-Kate and Ashely Olsen for The Row.

Menswear Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder.

Accessories Designer of the Year: Stuart Vevers for Coach, Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Laura Vassar and Kris Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole.

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens.

Founders Award: Pat McGrath.

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga.

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani.

Board of Directors' Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae

About the CFDA Awards

Each June, the international fashion community honors the best and brightest in American design at the CFDA Fashion Awards. Founded in 1981, they are the highest honor in fashion and recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as journalism, creative vision, personal style, and lifetime achievement. Additionally, the CFDA celebrates emerging design talent in womenswear, menswear and accessory design with the Swarovski Award.

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, an invitation-only network made up of the 500+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, stylists and influencers. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards are ratified by the CFDA Board of Directors. The Guild also votes for the winners for Womenswear, Menswear and Accessory Designer of the Year, as well as three Swarovski Awards for emerging talent.

About CFDA

The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association, founded in 1962, whose membership consists of more than 500 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers.

The CFDA foundation, Inc. is a separate not-for-profit organization, which was created to raise funds for charity and industry activities.

In addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, the trade organization owns the Fashion Calendar and stages New York Fashion Week: Men’s.

Best Fashion Styles for 2017

No comments:

Post a Comment