Monday, May 29, 2017

Ruben Östlund's "The Square" is the Surprise Winner of the Palme d'Or at 2017 Cannes

Ruben Östlund's "The Square" is the surprise winner of the Palme d'Or last night at the 70th annual Cannes Film Festival. "The Square" is his first English language film.
All the films I highlighted in my reports since the opening day won prizes, including Nicole Kidman who went home with the 70th Anniversary Prize!

70th Anniversary Cannes Film Festival: Full List of Winners

Palme d’Or
The Square (dir: Ruben Östlund)

Caméra d’Or (best first feature)
Jeune Femme (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (dir: Léonor Serraille)

Best short film
A Gentle Night (dir: Qiu Yang)

Best screenplay
The Killing of a Sacred Deer (dir: Yorgos Lanthimos); You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Jury prize
Loveless (dir: Andrei Zvyagintsev)

Best actress
Diane Kruger, In the Fade (dir: Fatih Akin)

Best actor
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here (dir: Lynne Ramsay)

Best director
Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

Grand Prix
120 Beats per Minute (dir: Robin Campillo)

70th Anniversary prize
Nicole Kidman

No comments:

Post a Comment