Sunday, March 10, 2013

Olu Jacobs and Tunde Kelani Shine at Inaugural AfricaMagic Viewers' Choice Awards

Olu Jacobs with his award. He encouraged local actors and other entertainers not to give up their ambitions in spite of challenges of rejections and shortcomings facing them.

Veteran actor Olu Jacobs and one of Africa's leading filmmakers Tunde Kelani were among the proud winners of highly coveted awards at the inaugural AfricaMagic Viewers' Choice Awards (AMVCA) held Saturday night March 9, 2013, at the Expo Hall of the Eko Hotels and Suites on Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria. Kelani's "Maami" won the Best Local Language movies (Yoruba) category and Olu Jacobs won the special Industry Merit Award.

Tunde Kelani speaking after receiving his award. The event was compered by popular Nigerian OAP IK Osakioduwa and Zimbabwean Vimbai Mutinhiri. It was a night of glitz and razzmatazz as the famous nominees and stars from Nollywood and other leading film and music industries in Africa graced the red carpet hosted by Nigeria's most famous MC, the maverick Denrele Edun and AfricaMagic hosts Helen Paul and Uti Nwachukwu (Jara), Dolapo Oni and Eku Edewor (53 Extra), Lawrence Maleka (StarGist)and also Nic Wang'ondu and Sarah Hassan (Mashariki Mix).   Genevieve Nnaji, the Queen of Nollywood. Funke Akindele Oloyede.   Stephanie Okereke-Linus. Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi, the famous Brenda Mensah of the popular Africa Magic soap opera "Tinsel". Click here for the red carpet photo gallery. Accomplished British-trained Nigerian actress Dame Taiwo Ajai-Lycett delivered the best awards citation at event in the presentation of the Industry Merit Award to her colleague, the veteran Nollywood star Olu Jacobs. Afrobeat superstar Femi Kuti opened the live performances by popular African singers which included Tiwa Savage (who remembered the late singer Goldie Harvey who was Nigeria’s representative at the last Big Brother Africa Star Game), award-winning Kenyan Afro-pop outfit Sauti Sol, Iyanya, Efya, Banky W and others. The awards were presented by various stars including Lynxxx Utunu, Helen Paul, Gbenro Ajibade , Ituen Basi, Mani, Chico Ejiro, Ireti Doyle, Desmond Eliot, Damilola Adegbite, Ike Okechukwu, Sarah Hassan, Halima Abubakar, Segun Arize , Denrele Edun, Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi, Eku Edewor, Joke Silva, Taiwo Ajai-Lycett, Uti Nwachukwu, Liz Benson- Ameye, OC Ukeje, Nadia Buhari, Gideon Okeke, Omoni Oboli, Stephanie Okereke- Idahosa, Michael Majid, Lizzy Jagger, Richard Mofe Damijo, Rita Dominic, Genevieve Nnaji and Jim Iyke. AfricaMagic Viewers' Choice Awards was created to celebrate African film and television talents, both in front of and behind the cameras with 28 awards in 26 categories, ranging from acting and directing to script-writing and cinematography, editing, make-up, sound, lighting and the special Industry Merit Award and the Trailblazer of the Year Award. But not all the Nollywood stars are happy with the emergence of the AMVCA. Popular actor Emeka Enyiocha is one of those who snubbed the inaugural event. "AfricaMagic Viewers Choice Awards is a clever South Africa duplication of our Africa Movie Academy Awards," he told TALK OF THE TOWN last night. Another notable film critic and journalist said AMVCA was created by the organizers in desperation for Nigerian content, because they need more Nollywood movies and Nigerian TV dramas to attract millions of subscribers of their cable TV network who can now view more Nollywood movies on IROKO TV and Afrinolly.  Fast rising Nollywood star OC Ukeje, won the Best Actor Drama Award for his leading role in "Two Brides and a Baby". The following is the complete list of all the winners with the links to some of their videos. Best Movie (Comedy) - Skeem, Tim Greene Best Movie (Drama) - The Mirror Boy, Obi Emelonye Best Movie (Overall) - Otelo Burning, Sara Blecher Best Television Series - The XYZ Show, Godffrey (Gado) Mwampembwa and Marie Lora-Mungai Best Local Language Swahili - The Ray of Hope, Sameer Srivastava and Sanjni Srivastava Best Local Language - Yoruba - Maami, Tunde Kelani Best Local Language - Hausa - Faida, Nura A Ali and Hafizu Bello Best Movie Director - Man on Ground, Akin Omotoso Best Writer (Drama) - The Mirror Boy, Obi Emelonye and Amaka Obi Emelonye Best Writer (Comedy) - Skeem, Tim Greene Best Cinematographer - Man on Ground, Paul Michelson Best Short Film - Yellow Fever, Ngendo Mukii Best Art Director - Otelo Burning, Anita van Hemert and Chantel Carter Best Costume Designer - The Mirror Boy, Ngozi Obasi Best Make-up Artist - Otelo Burning, Jacqui Bannermen Best Lighting Designer - Otelo Burning, Dave Howe Best Picture Editor - Man on Ground, Aryan Kaganof Best Sound Editor - Man on Ground, Micheal Botha and Joel Assaizky Best Actor Comedy - House a Part, Hafiz Oyetoro Best Actor Drama - Two Brides and a Baby, OC Ukeje Best Actress Comedy - Dumebi the Dirty Girl, Mercy Johnson Best Actress Drama - Perfect Picture, Jackie Appiah Best Supporting Actor Drama - A Good Catholic Girl, Matthew Nabwiso Best Supporting Actress Drama - Lies that Bind, Maureen Koech

Photo and Video Credits: AMVCA 2013.

© Orikinla Osinachi. 2013. No reproduction in any format of media without the authorization and permission of the publishers and copyrights owners.

No comments:

Post a Comment